Sister Souljah & Sabrina Jacobs – Webinar – 3/9/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM and Marcus Books present Sister Souljah & Sabrina Jacobs LOVE AND RAGE: The Path of Liberation Through Anger by the bestselling author of “The Coldest Winter Ever” A Zoom Webinar Event Tuesday, March 9, 2021, 5:30 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/sister-souljah-and-sabrina-jacobs-life-after-death-tickets-135779284495 Twenty years ago, Sister Souljah’s debut novel, “The Coldest Winter Ever,”…

Michael Eric Dyson: A Zoom Event – Webinar – 3/23/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM and Marcus Books present Michael Eric Dyson: A Zoom Event Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America Hosted by Sabrina Jacobs A Zoom Webinar Event Tuesday, March 23, 2021, 7PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/michael-eric-dyson-sabrina-jacobs-reckoning-with-race-in-america-tickets-137147695449 Building on Tears We Cannot Stop, a passionate call to America to finally reckon with race and…

Claudio Saunt & Mickey Huff: “Unworthy Republic” – Webinar 3/31/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents CLAUDIO SAUNT & MICKEY HUFF A Zoom Webinar Event Wednesday, March 31, 2021, 6PM-8PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/claudio-saunt-mickey-huff-tickets-137141043553 presented by KPFA Radio One of the most important books published on U.S. history in recent years and should be required reading for all Americans —Sven Beckert, author of Radical Compassion Unworthy Republic…

Kimberly Jones Webinar – 10/20/2020

  KIMBERLY JONES I’M NOT DYING WITH YOU TONIGHT with Davey D Tuesday, October 20, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kimberly-jones-im-not-dying-with-you-tonight-tickets-118858499973 presented by KPFA Radio The New York Times Bestseller! An absolute page turner, I’m Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. —Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author An NAACP…

Lama Rod Owens webinar – 10/13/2020

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents a webinar   LAMA ROD OWENS LOVE AND RAGE: The Path of Liberation Through Anger A Zoom Webinar Event With Sabrina Jacobs Tuesday, October 13, 7 PM 2020 EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/lama-rod-owens-love-and-rage-tikets-119349436377 presented by KPFA Radio Love and Rage; The Path of Liberation Through Anger is a deep dive into how…

Frank Wilderson III – 10/6/2020

  FRANK WILDERSON III AFROPESSIMISM A Zoom Webinar Event With Davey D Tuesday, October 6, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/frank-wilderson-afropessimism-tickets-118749128841?aff=ebdssbeac presented by KPFA Radio In the tradition of Edward Said’s Orientalism and Franz Fanon’s Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is a brilliant account of the experience of being black. The black radical tradition has drawn…

Juan Felipe Herrera & Naomi Shihab Nye webinar – 9/29/2020

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM with City Lights Books presents a webinar   Juan Felipe Herrera & Naomi Shihab Nye Every Day We Get More Illegal A Zoom Webinar Event With Sabrina Jacobs Tuesday, September 29, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/juan-felipe-herrera-naomi-shihab-nye-every-day-were-more- illegal-tickets-118654726481 presented by KPFA Radio and City Lights Books After two years on the road…

Obi Kaufmann Webinar – The Forests of California – 9-23-2020

  OBI KAUFMANN The Forests of California A Zoom Webinar Event with Brian Edwards-Tiekert Wednesday, September 23, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/obi-kaufmann-the-forests-of-california-tickets-118221899885 presented by KPFA Radio and Heyday Books From the author of The California Field Atlas comes another major work that not only guides readers through the Golden State’s forested lands, but also presents…

Steven Levy in Berkeley – 3/6/2020

  facebook THE INSIDE STORY STEVEN LEVY With Brian Edwards-Tiekert Friday, March 6, 2020, 7:30 PM First Presbyterian Church 2407 Dana Street Berkeley, CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or East Bay Books, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore $15 door, KPFA…

Richard Wolff in Berkeley – 2/28/2020

  RICHARD D. WOLFF Understanding Socialism with Sabrina Jacobs Friday, February 28, 2020, 7:30 PM First Presbyterian Church 2407 Dana Street Berkeley tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore $15 door, KPFA benefit Information: kpfa.org/events Richard Wolff’s book…

EJ Dionne in Berkeley – 2/27/2020

  CODE RED How Progressives & Moderates Can Unite to Save Our Country E J DIONNE with Kris Welch Thursday, Feb. 27, 2019, 7:30 pm Hillside Club 2286 Cedar Street Berkeley tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore…

Peter Jan Honisberg in Berkeley – 2/4/2020

  PETER JAN HONIGSBERG​ A PLACE OUTSIDE THE LAW: FORGOTTEN VOICES FROM GUANTANAMO With Steve Wasserman TUESDAY FEBRUARY 4, 7:30 PM Hillside Club 2286 Cedar Street Berkeley CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore, or East Bay…

Ian Haney López in Oakland – 1/22/2020

  IAN HANEY LÓPEZ MERGE LEFT: Fusing Race and Class, Winning Elections, and Saving America With Davey D Wednesday, January 22, 2020, 7:30 pm Kehilla Synagogue 1300 Grand Avenue Oakand/Piedmont CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, East Bay Books, Books Inc. (Berkeley), Pegasus Books (3 shops), Moe’s, Mrs. Dalloway’s, Walden Pond Books $15 door,…

Blair Imani in Oakland – 1/15/2020

  BLAIR IMANI MAKING OUR WAY HOME: The Great Migration and the Black American Dream With Davey D Wednesday, January 15, 2020, 7:30 pm St. Paul’s Episcopal Church 114 Montecito Avenue Oakland, CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, Marcus Books, East Bay Books, Books Inc. (Berkeley), Pegasus Books (3 shops), Moe’s, Mrs. Dalloway’s, Walden…

David Talbot in Berkeley – 1/27/2020

  DAVID TALBOT Between Heaven and Hell: The Story of My Stroke With Quincy McCoy Wednesday, January 27, 2020, 7:30 pm Hillside Club 2286 Cedar Street Berkeley tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, East Bay Books, Books Inc. (Berkeley), Pegasus Books (3 shops), Moe’s, Mrs. Dalloway’s, Walden Pond Books $15 door, KPFA 94.1FM benefit Information:…

Michael Eric Dyson in Berkeley – 12/11/2019

  MICHAEL ERIC DYSON discusses JAY-Z: Made in America hosted by Sabrina Jacobs Wednesday, December 11, 7:30 PM First Congregational Church 2345 Channing Way Berkeley tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore $15 door, KPFA benefit Information: kpfa.org/events…

Silvia Federici in Berkeley – 12/5/2019

  SILVIA FEDERICI FEMINIST – WRITER – TEACHER – ACTIVIST WITCHES, WITCH-HUNTING & WOMEN with SASHA LILLEY Thursday, December 5, 7:30 PM St. John’s Presbyterian Church 2727 College Ave Berkeley CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore…

Paul Ortiz in Berkeley – 11/12/2019

  AN AFRICAN-AMERICAN AND LATINX HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES Paul Ortiz Speaking Hosted by Sabrina Jacobs Tuesday, November 12, 2019, 7:30 pm St. John’s Presbyterian Church 2727 College Ave Berkeley CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond…