Davey D & Jeff Chang: “Can’t Stop Won’t Stop: A Hip-Hop History” | 4-20-2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM and Marcus Books present Davey D & Jeff Chang: A Zoom Event “Can’t Stop Won’t Stop: A Hip-Hop History” The American Book Award Winner Now Adapted for Young Adults Sunday, April 20, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/davey-d-jeff-chang-cant-stop-wont-stop-a-hip-hop-history-tickets-143437518479 CAN’T STOP WON’T STOP: A Hip-Hop History is the story, adapted for young adults,…

Vivian Gornick with Kris Welch: Taking a Long Look: Essays on Culture, Literature and Feminism – Webinar – 4/14/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents Vivian Gornick with Kris Welch Taking a Long Look: Essays on Culture, Literature and Feminism A Zoom Webinar Event Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 6:00 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/vivian-gornick-kris-welch-taking-a-long-look-tickets-137661131149 TAKING A LONG LOOK: ESSAYS ON CULTURE, LITERATURE AND FEMINISM IN OUR TIME is described by Publishers Weekly as “illuminating and a…

Sister Souljah & Sabrina Jacobs – Webinar – 3/9/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM and Marcus Books present Sister Souljah & Sabrina Jacobs LOVE AND RAGE: The Path of Liberation Through Anger by the bestselling author of “The Coldest Winter Ever” A Zoom Webinar Event Tuesday, March 9, 2021, 5:30 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/sister-souljah-and-sabrina-jacobs-life-after-death-tickets-135779284495 Twenty years ago, Sister Souljah’s debut novel, “The Coldest Winter Ever,”…

Michael Eric Dyson: A Zoom Event – Webinar – 3/23/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM and Marcus Books present Michael Eric Dyson: A Zoom Event Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America Hosted by Sabrina Jacobs A Zoom Webinar Event Tuesday, March 23, 2021, 7PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/michael-eric-dyson-sabrina-jacobs-reckoning-with-race-in-america-tickets-137147695449 Building on Tears We Cannot Stop, a passionate call to America to finally reckon with race and…

Greg Grandin & Brian Edwards-Tiekert Zoom Event – 4/7/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents Greg Grandin & Brian Edwards-Tiekert Empire’s Workshop: Latin America, the U.S., and the Rise of the New Imperialism A Zoom Webinar Event Wednesday, April 7, 2021, 6PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/greg-grandin-brian-edwards-tiekert-latin-america-us-new-imperialism-tickets-138075257813 Grandin has always been a brilliant historian; now he uses his detective skills in a book that is absolutely crucial…

Claudio Saunt & Mickey Huff: “Unworthy Republic” – Webinar 3/31/2021

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents CLAUDIO SAUNT & MICKEY HUFF A Zoom Webinar Event Wednesday, March 31, 2021, 6PM-8PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/claudio-saunt-mickey-huff-tickets-137141043553 presented by KPFA Radio One of the most important books published on U.S. history in recent years and should be required reading for all Americans —Sven Beckert, author of Radical Compassion Unworthy Republic…

Rashid Khalidi & Nora Barrows-Friedman – The Hundred Years’ War on Palestine – Webinar – 2/16/2021

  Rashid Khalidi & Nora Barrows-Friedman THE HUNDRED YEARS’ WAR ON PALESTINEA History of Settler Colonialism and Resistance, 1917—2017 A Zoom Webinar Event Tuesday, February 16, 6:00 PM PST EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/rashid-khalidi-nora-barrows-friedman-the-hundred-years-war-on-palestine-tickets-131127992355 presented by KPFA Radio A landmark history of one hundred years of war waged against the Palestinians from the foremost US historian of…

Elizabeth Kolbert & Mark Hertsgaard – Under a White Sky, The Nature of the Future – Webinar 2/11/2021

  ELIZABETH KOLBERT +MARK HERTSGAARD Under a White Sky, The Nature of the Future A Zoom Webinar Event Thursday, February 11, 5:00 PM EST EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/elizabeth-kolbert-mark-hertsgaard-under-a-white-sky-nature-of-future-tickets-131627494379 presented by KPFA Radio Elizabeth Kolbert, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sixth Extinction returns to humanity’s transformative impact on our environment, now asking: after doing so much damage,…

Daina Ramey Berry & Kali Nicole Gross – A Black Women’s History of the United States – Webinar – 2/4/2020

  A Black Women’s History of the United StatesBy Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross With Sabrina Jacobs Thursday, February 4, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/diana-ramey-berry-kali-nicole-gross-a-black-womens-history-of-the-us-tickets-130506218613 presented by KPFA Radio and Marcus Books Reaching from the year 1600 to the present day, A Black Women’s History of the United States – written by renowned…

Jerald Walker & Kevin Cartwright – How to Make a Slave – Webinar 1/28/2021

  Jerald Walker andKevin Cartwright How to Make a Slave Finalist, 2020 National Book Award in Nonfiction Thursday, January 28, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/jerald-walker-how-to-make-a-slave-and-other-essays-tickets-130211779939 presented by KPFA Radio The New York Times Bestseller! For the Black community, Jerald Walker asserts in How To Make a Slave, anger is often a prelude to a joke, as there…

Ladies Get Paid – Claire Wasserman Webinar – 1/25/2021

  LADIES GET PAID The Ultimate Guide to Breaking Barriers, Owning Your Worth, and Taking Command of Your Career Claire Wasserman, with Steve Wasserman A Zoom Webinar Event MONDAY, JANUARY 25, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/claire-wasserman-and-dad-steve-wasserman-ladies-get-paid-tickets-130905918125 presented by KPFA Radio Claire Wasserman – career coach and founder of Ladies Get Paid, the global organization leading…

Poets Espada & Bernstein – Webinar – moved to 3/11/2021

  Poets: Martin Espada & Dennis Bernstein A Zoom Webinar Event moved to THURSDAY, MARCH 11, 6 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/martin-espada- and-dennis-bernstein-floaters-tickets-130079233489 presented by KPFA Radio MARTIN ESPADA http://www.martinespada.net has published more than twenty books as a poet, editor, essayist and translator, including Vivas to Those Who Have Failed and Pulitzer finalist The Republic of Poetry. His many…

Chris Hedges Webinar – 11/10/2020

  CHRIS HEDGES THE CULTURE OF DESPAIR with Mickey Huff Tuesday, Nov 10, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/chris-hedges-the-culture-of-despair-tickets-120320183909 presented by KPFA Radio  

Kimberly Jones Webinar – 10/20/2020

  KIMBERLY JONES I’M NOT DYING WITH YOU TONIGHT with Davey D Tuesday, October 20, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kimberly-jones-im-not-dying-with-you-tonight-tickets-118858499973 presented by KPFA Radio The New York Times Bestseller! An absolute page turner, I’m Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. —Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author An NAACP…

Lama Rod Owens webinar – 10/13/2020

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM presents a webinar   LAMA ROD OWENS LOVE AND RAGE: The Path of Liberation Through Anger A Zoom Webinar Event With Sabrina Jacobs Tuesday, October 13, 7 PM 2020 EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/lama-rod-owens-love-and-rage-tikets-119349436377 presented by KPFA Radio Love and Rage; The Path of Liberation Through Anger is a deep dive into how…

Frank Wilderson III – 10/6/2020

  FRANK WILDERSON III AFROPESSIMISM A Zoom Webinar Event With Davey D Tuesday, October 6, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/frank-wilderson-afropessimism-tickets-118749128841?aff=ebdssbeac presented by KPFA Radio In the tradition of Edward Said’s Orientalism and Franz Fanon’s Black Skin, White Masks, Afropessimism is a brilliant account of the experience of being black. The black radical tradition has drawn…

Juan Felipe Herrera & Naomi Shihab Nye webinar – 9/29/2020

KPFA Radio 94.1 FM with City Lights Books presents a webinar   Juan Felipe Herrera & Naomi Shihab Nye Every Day We Get More Illegal A Zoom Webinar Event With Sabrina Jacobs Tuesday, September 29, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/juan-felipe-herrera-naomi-shihab-nye-every-day-were-more- illegal-tickets-118654726481 presented by KPFA Radio and City Lights Books After two years on the road…

Obi Kaufmann Webinar – The Forests of California – 9-23-2020

  OBI KAUFMANN The Forests of California A Zoom Webinar Event with Brian Edwards-Tiekert Wednesday, September 23, 7 PM EVENTBRITE LINK: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/obi-kaufmann-the-forests-of-california-tickets-118221899885 presented by KPFA Radio and Heyday Books From the author of The California Field Atlas comes another major work that not only guides readers through the Golden State’s forested lands, but also presents…

Steven Levy in Berkeley – 3/6/2020

  facebook THE INSIDE STORY STEVEN LEVY With Brian Edwards-Tiekert Friday, March 6, 2020, 7:30 PM First Presbyterian Church 2407 Dana Street Berkeley, CA tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or East Bay Books, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore $15 door, KPFA…

Richard Wolff in Berkeley – 2/28/2020

  RICHARD D. WOLFF Understanding Socialism with Sabrina Jacobs Friday, February 28, 2020, 7:30 PM First Presbyterian Church 2407 Dana Street Berkeley tickets: $12 advance tickets: brownpapertickets.com T:800.838.3006, or Books Inc. (Berkeley), or Pegasus Books (3 shops), or Moe’s, or Mrs. Dalloway’s, or Walden Pond Bookstore $15 door, KPFA benefit Information: kpfa.org/events Richard Wolff’s book…